I’m a Quilter!


Hey! Long time, no see! My baby has taken up the majority of my time these last two (!!!) years so there has been little to no time to blog! But recently I’ve picked up a new hobby…Quilting! I’ve actually found that I love it and I’m pretty decent at it too! I’ve never -really- had a real hobby before, so this is new territory we are covering here.

I purchased my first quilt kit from Craftsy in December 2013. I really only purchased it because I liked the fabric. I’m not sure that I intended on actually making it…but I had hoped to find someone to make it for me! Anyway…it sat around for a couple months until August when I decided to break it out and give it a try. I took Craftsy’s Quilting Quickly class by Jenny Doan. That class was awesome! It seriously taught me almost everything I know about quilting. So, I started the quilt after I had watched enough of the class to at least get started. The rest of the details I will go into when I post about the actual quilt but needless to say, it lit a fire in me! I absolutely love quilting!

So far, I have finished 5 quilts and have another two in the works. I’ve also joined Blossom Heart Quilt‘s Quilting Bee where you make one block a month and send it to someone who will turn all of the blocks into one quilt. Each quilter gets a month to receive blocks in order to make a quilt with. I think it sounds like a lot of fun!

I’ve also planned to do a Hedgehog quilt-a-long with GnomeAngel starting in February. It sounds like it will be a lot of fun! My friend, Barbara (who partly inspired me to get into quilting), is also doing it. It will be fun to do it with a friend!

Well, so long!

i’ll be sharing my quilt stories soon! I have 5 to catch up on!

One thought on “I’m a Quilter!

  1. So excited for you! Quilting is such a fun journey! I had tried so many hobbies before quilting and quilting is the first hobby that has really stuck! How can you go wrong with all of that fun fabric! 🙂 Looking forward to your quilting posts!

Leave a Reply

