Retro Post: How I’m Being a Better CrossFitter


I originally started writing this post in early 2011, but true to my New Year’s Resolution…I’m going to eventually post all of these unfinished blogs!!

I’m constantly scouring ways to help me with ways I can improve in the gym. I stumbled across this little handy article a while ago and I love it. I’ve quoted the ones most relevant to me but check out CrossFit Watertown’s blog for the complete list and posting!

….

7. Read the CrossFit Journal articles and watch the videos. What’s this going to take? Like 15 min a day? Worth the time and worth the $25 per year. Stop whining and commit.

6. Stop whining and commit. Yeah, that was so good and simple, it needed to be said again and for like all of life.

5. Put stuff away where it belongs. You might call it housekeeping but, really, it’s a form of discipline. You don’t want bumpers or collars or KBs or whatever all over the place. Pick your item, use it, and put it away. Mental discipline is as important as physical discipline, maybe even more so.

4. Get to class 15 minutes early, all the time. Use that extra time not to chat or work on stuff you’re good at — use it to suck. Suck at L-sits, suck at deadhang pull-ups, suck at KB snatches. All the stuff you and your ego have been avoiding. Put on your big girl panties and do the stuff you don’t want to do. It’s called being a grown-up. And a CrossFitter. Go do it.

3. Shut up about programming. Nobody’s ever happy with programming unless they’re the ones doing the programming. Do the workouts. If you’re getting stronger and quicker and feel better, guess what? The programming is working. And if you’re not getting stronger or quicker and you don’t feel better, grab a coach and address your concerns privately.  (Note: I am talking to myself here. If anyone hears me complain one word about programming for the next 30 days, feel free to call my ass out and institute a 10 burpee fine on the spot. If you want to follow this way, that’s cool too.)

….

1. Stop praying at the bar. Gather yourself, address the bar, breathe, and lift. Don’t make it more complex — in movement or thought — than it needs to be. Lift the flippin’ bar.

via 10 Ways To Be a Better CrossFitter | CrossFit Watertown, Oakville, CT.

7. So…CrossFit Journal. I’ve debated subscribing to it for a while. It’s only $25 a year but I just wasn’t sure if it was worth it. I figured it was mostly articles for people who live, eat, breathe and die CrossFit. I mean…I like CrossFit but it’s not like you’ll ever see me competing at the games or anything. So I didn’t really think much of it. But lately I’ve seen a lot of articles that have been extremely relevant to me and not only improve my performance, but help in preventing injury as well (like Perfecting the Box JumpEfficiency Tips: Ground to Overhead and Quick Fixes to Improve Rowing). I’ve actually implemented techniques from every video/article that I’ve read. Particularly the three I mentioned. Unfortunately, I cannot watch the full videos or articles without subscribing. So…we’ll see! If they keep posting these types of articles, I will likely be subscribing.

6. ‘Nuff said.

5. We don’t go to globo gyms with little globo drones to pick up after us and sanitize our equipment for us so we shouldn’t treat our CrossFit gym like one. Take the time and respect your gym and the people who own it.

  • Take a second to stack the weights straight. Not crooked and at risk of toppling over and hurting someone.
  • Put the kettle bells back in the same organized fashion you found them. Don’t you hate it when you go to find your 35# kb and all you can find where it should be are 26# and 70#? That’s annoying. Stop it.
  • If you use chalk, sweat, shed, bleed or whatever else…use the sanitizing wipes and clean it up. The Clorox wipes aren’t there for fun. I mean, how disgusting is it to think of using a pull up bar that someone ripped their hands on? Gross! Clean and sanitize it people. It just takes a second! 🙂

4. Now this is something I just started doing. I don’t get there 15 minutes early but I try for at least 5 to 10 minutes early. Since doing so, I have been able to improve my pull up significantly. In addition to getting better at something, you might also try a little repair and healing and use the foam roller and lacrosse balls to work out those muscles you have worked so hard on. Work on those mobility movements we spend time on in the beginning of workouts too. Your muscles will thank you later. So will your joints.

3. If you do it so well, open your own gym and do your own programming. However, these people know what they’re doing. Active rest days worked into the programming are necessary. So are brutal workouts that you hate. Don’t go do Karen at the globo gym after an active rest day at CrossFit. The likely reason for the light programming today is that Filthy Fifty or Eva is tomorrow. Do it and trust your trainers and programmers. They know what they’re doing. Trust me.

1. This one I still struggle with. Still.

Three that they did not mention that I think need to be added to the list are:

  1. Be courteous. If you’re one of the first done with the WOD or if you were in the first group when we do workouts in two groups, help out the people who finish after you. While they’re heaving, near death on the ground after the workout, pick up their KB, put up their bands, dismantle their barbell. Be nice. One day you’ll want someone to do this for you.
  2. Be friendly. New person at the gym? Attending a new class? Introduce yourself and welcome the newcomers! We have all been that new person and we all remember what it was like to be the person that has no idea what’s going on. When your pre-workout meal was still Gatorade Perform and your post-workout was Gatorade Recovery.  Say hi to them. Tell them your name and help them out. I’m as guilty as anyone of being to ‘busy’ or caught up in myself to not say hi to newcomers but I will consciously make an effort to not be that way any longer.
  3. Watch your mouth! The most frustrating thing about the CrossFit community is the need to drop as many curse words for shock value in our box rules, lists and posts. Absurd. Luckily I attend a box with a pretty tame crew profanity-wise (although we’re a pretty crazy crowd!). I can’t even remember ever hearing an f-bomb get dropped. However, other boxes are not the same. They are ridden with cursing and think its cool, funny and rebellious. Teenagers and young children attend our CrossFit gym and I’m happy to say that no one really has to censor themselves and parents can send their kids to our gym without fear of inappropriate language being used in front of their kids.

What do you think? Agree? Disagree?

One thought on “Retro Post: How I’m Being a Better CrossFitter

  1. I highly recommend putting up the $25/year for the CrossFit Journal. Not only do you get a lot of good tips, but you get inspiration from seeing other people’s stories. The community is one of the most important parts of CrossFit. Spending the $25 also helps to support the community in a small way.

Leave a Reply

