Paleo: The life changes and the life keepers


Since starting a Paleo lifestyle 16 months ago, I’ve learned the foods that I once thought I had to have and realize now that I don’t and some foods I never thought I’d have anything to do with that I now love. Whole9 encourages people to create a list of things they eat because they have to and then things they’re gonna eat no matter what! I’ve been thinking on mine a while so…here’s a few lists I’ve made regarding my food choices in the last 16 months.

Food that will likely never again receive prime realty on my pantry shelf or my refrigerator door…

  • Milk
  • Cheese
  • Peanut Butter
  • Store-bought bread
  • Pasta
  • White potatoes

Food that will likely always have a special place on my shelves and in my heart, even though I’m Paleo!

  • Popcorn
  • Girl Scout Cookies
  • Reeses
  • Mexican food
  • Christmas/Thanksgiving dinner and all that it entails

Food that has elbowed, kneed, shoved and forced its way in to stay (meaning, I don’t care for it but it’s good for me so I’m going to eat it)

  • Coconut milk and coconut flakes
  • Almonds
  • Spinach
  • Fish oil

Food that has gracefully entered my world and is here to stay!

  • Almond butter (YUM!)
  • Sunbutter
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Bacon
  • KALE
  • Red bell peppers
  • Coconut oil

What’s on your lists?

6 thoughts on “Paleo: The life changes and the life keepers

    1. Thank you, Elizabeth! I almost died when our trainer at CF mentioned sunbutter. I LOVE sunflower seeds and had NO idea sunbutter existed!!!! I was stoked when I tried it and it was DElish!

  1. I started eating paleo because I suffer from multiple severe food allergies, and paleo offered a great deal of freedom for me (going from a label-reading processed diet to a label-free fresh diet). My key rule is to shop the perimeter of the store, buy only things that DON’T have an ingredients list, and stay as organic as possible. Since I started eating this way, I’ve found I feel better and healthier. And I actually like grocery shopping now, because I’m not having to scan over every label looking for the foods I am allergic to and their insidious derivatives. Because I can’t eat nuts, I’ve had to replace nuts in paleo recipes with seeds – sunflower seeds and pumpkin seeds being my favorites. I absolutely LOVE kale – kale chips, kale stir fry, kale in salads. And there are many different varieties of kale! After years of eating “low carb”, I had come to fear fruits, so learning to allow myself that indulgence was a huge step. The only non-paleo things I’ll allow to creep back in now and then (mostly for special occasions) are cakes for birthdays, pies for holidays, and homemade mac and cheese as a celebratory meal. Because I can’t eat gluten, all those things are made with gluten-free flours. And I love Sunbutter, too. I’ll put a tablespoon in a smoothie with avocado, fruit, and coconut milk – ah, great love!

    1. Absolutely!! Perimeter is KEY! I’m trying to work myself back into a stricter paleo diet as I have slacked off lately. I can definitely feel it when I am not eating right! my body is just not right!

  2. I have been on a paleo diet for only 2 weeks, but so far I feel great! It is very easy to eat and mix things up so it’s never boring. Having a thyroid condition for 6+years, I realized I was eating all the wrong things for thyroid health (like wheat/gluten, peanut butter, and sneaky soy additives in foods). I regularly enjoy full-fat things like avocados, coconut oil/milk, grass-fed beef, full-fat raw dairy and nuts and nut butters! I recently discovered SunButter and I like that it’s a change from nut butter. I also eat fruit once a day.

Leave a Reply

