New Year’s Resolutions: Make My Home A Home


Earlier this month I made a list of New Year’s Resolutions. This is the final installment of six that will be detailing my goals. Whew! Got them all in before the end of the month!! 🙂

Organize

I’ll keep this part short and sweet because this stuff is boring, but necessary. I have lots of rooms that need to be worked on and I’m hoping by spending at least 15 to 30 minutes a day in each, I’ll be able to make some progress in getting them organized this year. There are probably 10 or 15 boxes in my house that haven’t even been unpacked from when we moved in in 2009!

  • Office – most of it hasn’t even been unpacked since we moved in. um…yea.
  • Garage – we have a storage closet in our garage that still has building materials from the last owner still in it. Yup. Time to clean it up! I’d rather have MY stuff in there!
  • Studio – Leighton has transformed his “Nerd Room” into a full-blown studio (Hideout Studios, y’all!! Spread the word!) and it was done rather quickly and there is a lot of things sort of strewn about. My goal this year (for Leighton) is to get that room a little more presentable.
  • Kitchen – I started this one at the beginning of the month!! The organization of my kitchen is just not working. Everything is just shoved here and there and every time I need to get one thing, I have to pull out 100 other things just to get the one thing.  This year is time for reorganization so I can cook a bit more efficiently. Already moved some of my spices, my cookbooks and cleared off some of my cabinet space.

Remodel

As I said before, we are budgeting money to remodel parts of our house. Provided we can find some great deals, our plans are to redo the floors in the entire house, remodel the master bathroom, replace the countertops in the kitchen and bar area and put blinds on all the windows in the house. We have very limited funds to pull this off so pulling it all off WILL be a challenge but Leighton, Pinterest and I are up for the challenge! We hare hoping to have as little done by professionals as possible as that gets very expensive very quickly. We will be doing as much as we can on our own. If you have any advice or good websites, please send them our way.

Well, that concludes my series on my 2012 new years resolutions. What do you think? What are your resolutions??

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions: Make My Home A Home

Leave a Reply

