New Year’s Resolutions: Get Back My Sanity


Earlier this month I made a list of New Year’s Resolutions. This is the fifth installment of six that will be detailing my goals. I’m trying to get the last two in before the end of January so hopefully I’ll post the last one in time for tomorrow!

Sometimes I sit back and realize that I’m kinda losing it a little. I snap at my husband, I get snappy at work (although that’s usually mutterings under my breath rather than directly at anyone), I get lazy with my workouts and I get lazy with my life in general. I’ve decided two aspects of my life really need improving. Mentally and Spiritually.

Mentally

Get more sleep. No better way to say it. I need more sleep. I’d like to start a goal of being in bed by 10 p.m. every weeknight so I can get at least 7-8 hours of sleep each night. Right now, I get between 4-6 hours most nights. And, here lately, it’s been even less than that. Let’s change that! I just need to start disciplining myself and going to bed at 10. I was really good with it there for a while, but slowly, but surely, I worked myself back to an 11 p.m. or 12 a.m. bedtime.

Spiritual

I’ve bounced between two different churches for a couple of years now. Sometimes I go to The Village in Highland Village and sometimes I go to Cross Timbers in Denton and sometimes I watch one or the other online. I’d like to finally lock down, commit and consistently go to a church. I think the problem is that I don’t know very many people very well that go to either and I always end up sitting by myself. I hate going by myself. So, I stay at home and watch online or bounce between the two. So, to rid myself of this vicious cycle I’m in, I decided that I’m going to choose between the two and stick with one church and then one campus of said church so I can finally grow some roots and plant my feet somewhere.

Well, good news, y’all. I made a decision yesterday and decided to stay at Cross Timbers, where I’ve gone for about the last 6 years or so, off and on. Rachel and I have been attending in person for the last three weeks and today we decided to go to the welcome class and join the church. It was a good feeling. And also helped me address some of my problems I described above. Toby talked about how to get involved and spoke about people in the past who have come to him after leaving the church because they didn’t know anyone after attending for months. But, he asked them, “When do you arrive at the service?” They would often answer, “11 or 11:05.” And when he asked them when they left, it was usually before the service was dismissed. How do you I expect to meet any people when I show up late and leave before or immediately when the service is over? Because this has been my habit in the past. Come late, leave early.

Well, no more for me! I’ll start getting there a little early or on time and stay at the end to chat and build relationships with all the acquaintances I know at the church. I’m actually quite excited about it. It’s been a while since I’ve really been really integrated into a church.

20120130-001249.jpg

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions: Get Back My Sanity

Leave a Reply

