New Year’s Resolution: Expand My Mind


Earlier this week I made a list of New Year’s Resolutions.  This is the first installment of several that will be detailing my goals. Some people have asked me, “Don’t you think this is a little too…personal?” Well, no.  I don’t.  Sometimes, in order to keep a goal you must have someone keep you accountable. Well, my blog is my accountability partner. I will have to go back to these posts periodically to make sure I am still on the right track and to keep me in check. I need this accountability. It worked last year, so hopefully it works this year too!

So, here goes number one: Expand My Mind

This year I will read more, blog consistently and write more. Last year I had a goal to read and to post specific things here.  This year, I’d rather make this more about expanding my mind and improving my writing skills.

Read

Last year I had a goal to read one book per month. I smashed that goal. This year I will set a higher goal for myself. This year I’d like to read 16 books. This is a little more than one a month and I think I can handle that with no problem. I read a lot of fiction last year. In fact, except for my cookbooks, I read entirely fiction.

This year I’ll mix it up.

I want to read fiction books and non-fiction books on a rotating basis. I started tracking my books on Goodreads last year and this really helped me keep track of my goal and I always have a plan for the next book to read. Also, for Christmas I got a Kindle Fire and I’ve been reading on it so much! Plus, with my Amazon Prime membership, I get one free e-book per month! So far, I’m starting off the year by finishing up Melissa Joulwan’s Well-Fed and The Kennedy Detail. Since I’m almost done with those two, I went ahead and started my first fiction book of the year, Mockingjay, the third book in the Hunger Games series. I’ll read the fifth Harry Potter book after that and then…it’s all up in the air!

Write

I will write for me. Not for anyone else. Last year I apologized for being absent, apologized for being lengthy, etc. But I’ve thought about that. This is my blog and it’s for me and anyone out there who wishes to read it. Sometimes I will post about Paleo, sometimes CrossFit, sometimes I’ll just post about my boring life. But, it is what it is. And it is mine. No more apologies for not living up to some nonexistent standard that’s out there.

Blog

I slacked on my blog the last few months of 2011. In fact, the last two or three, I didn’t really write at all. Unfortunately my blog gradually worked itself to the back burner throughout the year.  First things first. This year, I will write every day.

Something.
Anything.

And you might never read it.

Sometimes it will be only for me but I hope to make most of my writings for the masses. I’ve always wanted to be a good writer and the only way to get better at it is to practice.

Every.
Single.
Day.

So that’s what I’ll do! But hopefully most of the posts make it to the live blog.  Secondly, I’ve got about 9 posts that I started last year and never finished. So, if you see some posts that seem ill timed (such as a post about my experience at a 5k I ran in September…) it’s probably me finishing up a post I’d been procrastinating on last year. Lastly, this year it will be less about trying to create a theme (which is what I was trying to do before) and more about me…in general. I really thought I needed a theme.  Like Paleo, or CrossFit, or cooking, or reading. Well, I decided…I don’t need no theme! So, the theme is simple: Jennilee.

With that being said…I hope you continue to read.  I really like having you around. Each and every one of you. 

4 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: Expand My Mind

Leave a Reply

