Friday Series: Making a Better Me (part 3)


The last two Fridays and for the next three Fridays, I’ll be posting on this topic.  Enjoy!!

I recently read a post by The Clothes Make the Girl about bettering yourself. It inspired me to create my own! Her inspiration was originally driven from 5 Body Image Quick Fixes.  It’s really easy for me to get down on myself and to not see the great person that I’ve become.  I hide behind all of the stupid petty ridiculous imperfections I see in myself.  Hopefully this will become good therapy for me! ;)

The list is…

You can create a list of:

Five things you love about yourself. (read my list here)
Five things your body can do. (read my list here)
Five things you’re grateful for.
Five things that make you happy you’re alive. (read my list here)
Five people who you love (pets included!).

via 5 Body Image Quick Fixes | Weightless.

Now its time for the third “Five Things.”

Five things I’m grateful for

I like this topic.  I could write for days on this topic.  In fact, I’ve written a couple posts on the things I’m grateful for and why I have it better than I think.  If you haven’t read them, check them out here and here!  I’ve already told you why I’m grateful for my husband, my family, CrossFit, my dogs, and many others so here’s my list of even MORE things I’m thankful for!

Melisssa (“Maliki”) – This is my BFF, my side kick, my partner in crime, my stylist, my makeup artist, my personal shopper…whatever you want to call her…she’s Maliki!  My days, weeks and months wouldn’t be the same without her.  For the first week I knew her, she introduced me as, “This is Victoria.  She’s my midget.”  (Even though I’m a good 4 or 5 inches taller than her…oh…and my name isn’t Victoria)  and ever since then, we’ve been inseparable. She is most definitely someone who would bend over backwards to do something to make others happy.  She loves her kids and her niece and nephew love, love, love their auntie.  She is one person, however, I would not like to be on her bad side.  Beware! I love her dearly and she is my very best friend.

My health – I am very fortunate to be a very healthy person.  I have, essentially, no physical or mental conditions that prevent me from doing whatever I want to do.  I thank God every day for my health, my strength and my sanity.

My salvation – I mean, who wouldn’t be thankful?  I mean, I know I am not always a perfect, role model Christian.  In fact, I probably wouldn’t even say I was a very good one at all. But I am a work in progress.  We all are.  I continually try to make myself a better person every day but I know that even when I mess up, God still loves me and will forgive me if I ask.  I am eternally (literally) thankful for my salvation.

Mexican food – Rosa’s, Christina’s, the Alamo, Blue Mesa, Mi Cocina…all of it.  I don’t think I could live without it.  Quite possibly the hardest thing about Whole30s is giving up Mexican food for 30 days.  It is nearly impossible!

Texas weather – Yes, I know.  Its a strange thing to say after 30something days over 100 and 60something days without rain but I’d much rather endure this heatwave than any span of sub freezing temperatures and snow ANY day!  Bring on the heat, kick out the cold.  Bring on the 80* one day then 40* next.  Whatever, I can handle it!  I’m a Texan.  Born & Bred.  If you don’t like the weather, move to Minnesota.  Then I’ll see you in November when you decide to come back. 😉

So, what five things are you grateful for?

Please use the sharing buttons below!! Also, click the link to the right under “Social Vibe” and help support Do Something. (its free!)
Thanks for reading!  ~*~JL~*~
(comment button is at the top of the post by the title if you’d like to leave a comment!)
13 thoughts on “Friday Series: Making a Better Me (part 3)

  1. Hi JL! Now that I’ve officially met you (CFDC) I feel like its not totally weird for me to leave a comment on your blog. I love your blog (I’ve been following it for awhile)! I especially enjoy your Friday series, I think I’m going to add it to my blog.
    =) Whitney

    1. Aw! Thanks for reading & commenting!! I’d LOVE to read it if you do it!

      Well, I guess my ‘picture’ luck really did run out because the very next day David was taking pictures too!! Dang it! 😉

      Do you post these anywhere or just send to David?

      1. I usually give them to Dave on a flashdrive and he does whatever he likes with them. Sometimes he posts them on facebook if enough people ask him to. =)

  2. What a great list – and what a wonderful practice, to write down what you are grateful for. This is something I always intend to do, occasionally think in my head, but rarely actually do. I love it! And you know what I adore about your list? #2. Those who have never battled with any major illnesses, physical or mental, generally don’t think to acknowledge how good they have it, and how grateful they should be. That’s really, really cool. I’m GLAD to hear that you are so healthy!

    1. Hey Kimberly! Thanks for stopping by!! I totally encourage you to write these things down! It is a total reality check. Especially when I’m sitting around feeling sorry for myself I can go back to my lists and go….”oh yea, that!” 🙂

Leave a Reply

