Recipe: Grilled Okra, et al


In honor of this week’s ingredient, Okra, I’ve prepped a quick little video for you!  I’m sorry I’m not smiling. I need to learn to smile more in my vids… 🙂

I got this recipe from The Clothes Make the Girl

Grilled Okra

Ingredients:

1 pound fresh okra
1 tablespoon coconut oil
salt and garlic powder, to taste
pinch cayenne pepper (optional)

Directions:

1. Preheat gas grill on high with the lid closed, about 10 minutes. Meanwhile, cut the stem off each piece of okra. Be careful not to cut into the pod! If you don’t allow oxygen to get inside the pod, you will not be slimed. Put cleaned okra in a large mixing bowl with plenty of room to toss.

2. Place the coconut oil in a ramekin or measuring cup and melt in the microwave, about 15 seconds. Drizzle over the okra, then generously sprinkle the okra with salt and garlic powder. Toss with two wooden spoons until okra is coated with oil and seasonings. Don’t wash the bowl; just set it aside for a few minutes.

3. Place okra on the grill, close the lid, and amuse yourself for 2 minutes. Using tongs, roll the okra onto its other side and grill for another 2 minutes with the lid closed. Remove the okra from the grill and return it to the bowl. Toss again to roll the okra in the remnants of the coconut oil. Sprinkle with a little more salt, if you’re a salt fiend like me. Eat with your fingers!

via The Surprise of Grilled Okra | theclothesmakethegirl.


Now, unlike me, Melissa is NOT an okra fan.  Good thing I am!! I freakin’ love the stuff!

I pretty much followed the recipe exactly (unusual for me, I know) and it was AWESOME!  Leighton and I practically fought over the leftovers! (uh…seriously…)

See below for my demo and also check out the other awesome recipes below the vid!

Some other cool okra recipes:

Okra? Okra! Ok? Ok! – by The Clothes Make the Girl (I made this with almond flour instead of ground almonds!)

Crispy Baked Okra – by Everyday Paleo

Paleo Gumbo – by Wellness Mama

I’ve actually made an AWESOME paleo/veggie gumbo that Melissa and I adapted from a non-paleo recipe.  It was uh-may-zing.  I will feature it on a blog at some point when I can recreate the recipe and hopefully video it for you!

I promise to smile more from now on and not look so exasperated in my videos…. 🙂

Please use the sharing buttons below!!   
Thanks for reading!  ~*~JL~*~
(comment button is at the top by the title if you’d like to leave a comment!)
Leave a Reply

