Recipe: Warm Spinach and Sweet Potato Salad (and cooking demo!)


Welcome to my very first full recipe cooking demonstration!!  In the past I’ve shown how to cut or prepare certain things (herehere,here and here) but I’ve never done a full on cooking demo.  Well, with the help of my super-awesome husband, I’ve got a video for you!! If you like it, I’ll make more!

The recipe is from Everyday Paleo by Sarah Fragraso. It’s one I thought would be an easy first choice and would also provide us side dishes (or meals) for a couple of days.  When I’m choosing a recipe, I always try to choose something that I can make a lot of.  This way I do not have to cook every night or I’ll at least have food for lunch the next day.

I also try to find recipes that I can cook quickly.  Under 30 minutes is ideal but this one took me about 40 minutes.  Sometimes the results are worth the longer cook time!

If you want to see the full demo, please watch my super-awesome video my super-awesome husband put together (below).

Here’s the recipe!

Warm Spinach and Sweet Potato Salad

3 cups peeled and diced sweet potatoes
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 apple diced
8 strips of bacon, diced
2 leeks, thinly sliced
6 oz of fresh baby spinach
Handful of sliced almonds for garnish

Dressing

¼ cup olive oil
1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp spicy brown mustard (from Trader Joe’s)
Fresh ground black pepper to taste
1 tbsp of dried basil
Pinch of cayenne pepper

Preheat your oven to 400.  Toss the diced sweet potatoes with the coconut oil and spread evenly on a baking sheet.  Bake in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.  While the sweet potatoes are baking, cook the diced bacon in a large skillet.  Once the bacon is crispy, add the sliced leeks in with the bacon and saute for another 4-5 minutes.  Put your spinach in a large salad bowl and add the bacon and leek mixture. Toss well, letting the warm bacon wilt the spinach.  Add the apples and sweet potatoes to the salad and toss together.  In a separate bowl whisk together the salad dressing ingredients.  Pour over the salad, mix well and garnish with the sliced almonds.

via Warm Spinach and Sweet Potato Salad | Everyday Paleo.

Leighton and I are not fans of the salty/sweet combination of apples and bacon.  We tried this before in an apple/chard recipe and we were not big fans.  So, I decided to leave the apple out but you are more than welcome to leave it in.  Also, don’t be afraid to try other types of fruit such as mango or pear!

Also, any salad base is good.  Just make sure it’s a dark green.  The darker, the more nutritious!!  Arugula is good as well as a spring mix.  Either will work well in this salad in place of spinach.

Any nitrate-free bacon will also do for this recipe.  Penderson’s has a great applewood smoked that would go great if you’re adding the apples.

In all, my adjustments to this recipe were:

  • Nix the apples
  • Doubled the Leeks
  • Used an entire package of bacon
  • 5 cups of sweet potatoes
  • Left out the almonds (for lack thereof)

Next time I will…

  • Not forget the almonds!
  • Try applewood smoked bacon
  • Use spring mix salad
  • Use less vinegar and more EVOO
  • Bake/Grill some chicken to add to the salad
  • MAKE MORE!!! 🙂

Leighton and I thoroughly enjoyed this meal in between videoing meals (we filmed two that day!)

Let me know any thoughts, feedback or questions!

Sorry for the crazy formatting going on in this post.  I cannot figure out what the deal is so I’ve given up… 🙂

Please use the sharing buttons below!! Also, click the link to the right under “Social Vibe” and help support Do Something. (its free!)

Thanks for reading!  ~*~JL~*~

(comment button is at the top by the title if you’d like to leave a comment!)

 

 

 

One thought on “Recipe: Warm Spinach and Sweet Potato Salad (and cooking demo!)

Leave a Reply

