Friday Series: Making a Better Me


For the next five Fridays, I’ll be posting on this topic.  Enjoy!!

I recently read a post by The Clothes Make the Girl about bettering yourself. It inspired me to create my own! Her inspiration was originally driven from5 Body Image Quick Fixes.  It’s really easy for me to get down on myself and to not see the great person that I’ve become.  I hide behind all of the stupid petty ridiculous imperfections I see in myself.  Hopefully this will become good therapy for me! 😉

The list is…

You can create a list of:

Five things you love about yourself.
Five things your body can do. (read my list here)
Five things you’re grateful for. (read my list here)
Five things that make you happy you’re alive. (read my list here)
Five people who you love (pets included!).

via 5 Body Image Quick Fixes | Weightless.

So, the first task is to write Five things you love about yourself … I actually originally wanted to save this one for last. I’m so bad at those types of things. But, that’s the whole purpose of writing these, so…here goes!

  1. I’m loyal.
    I will fight to the bitter end for my friends and my family.  That’s all I really have to say about that.
  2. I’m a TV junkie.
    I’m not ashamed. I love TV. It’s a hobby and a huge “like” of mine. Some days, there is nothing more I want than to curl up in the recliner with my TiVo, my dogs, some snacks and some good TV. My TV spans all types of oddities but I’m really in to anything to do with crime, police, court and the like. So, naturally, I’m into things like Cops (longtime fav), People’s Court, CSI, CSI: Miami, Law & Order: SVU and The First 48. Oddly enough, I am not into any other Law & Order series and I’m not into NCIS. I love medical shows, too like ER (looooove), HawthoRNe, Discovery Health in general and an oldie but a goodie, Doogie Howser. I’m into some reality TV, but not a lot. I like Real Housewives of New Jersey (guilty pleasure) and Deadliest Catch. I also like the auditions on American Idol but don’t typically stick it out past that point. This was the first year that I stuck it out to the end to watch the whole thing. (I called Scottie as the winner from the first audition BTW. Just sayin’.) This year my TV love will change somewhat as Leighton and I have cancelled our cable package. Now we only get network channels. This will be okay though because we still have lots of Netflix Instant and, really, I just don’t have time to watch TV these days!
  3. I love to read.
    I recently started to read again this year. I’d actually forgotten how much I used to love reading. As a kid, I would read book after book after book (in my younger years, this was primarily The Babysitters Club! :)). Slowly through the years I let other things creep into my life and I stopped reading altogether by last year. One of my New Years Resolutions was to read at least one book per month. I think I’m well past my goal and I think I’m on my 10th or 11th book this year. My NYR revived my love for reading and getting sucked in to good literature. I remembered that there’s such a thing as a *gasp!* library! I’ve gotten lots of books from the library since I started reading again. However, recently I decided that I need to get through all the books I’ve purchased and are sitting in my office collecting dust before I start borrowing from the library again. Currently reading: Harry Potter series (on book 3) and Intimate Issues.
  4. I’m a CrossFitter.
    It’s not just that I’m a CrossFitter. It’s that I’m active. I’m fit. I’m healthy. A year ago I had just started my CrossFit journey. I closed my eyes, took a deep breath and signed my 1 year contract with CrossFit Denton County (soon to be CrossFit Lewisville). I signed a 1 year contract, not because I had to but because I thought it would keep me from quitting and dropping out if I were “contractually obligated” to come. Now, was I really “contractually obligated” to come? No, not really. I’m really just contractually obligated to pay. However, I don’t pay that much per month just to stare at my thunder thighs and prego-like poochy belly and eat popcorn, lean cuisines and diet coke. I’m gonna actually use it! And use it, I have. Have I been as consistent as I want? No, but I’m still working at it. I haven’t been this dedicated to something since college. I’m making myself better every day.
  5. I can cook something out of nothing and … I live to eat (still).
    Changing my eating style from that of the SAD (Standard American Diet) diet to a Paleo way of eating has been quite an adventure.  I’ve gone from SAD, to Vegetarian (and here),  to fancy cooking, to my first attempt at a Paleo diet (although I didn’t know that’s what it was called at the time), to eating true Paleo and then my first Whole30. It’s been quite an adventure. Through that adventure, I’ve taught myself how to cook.  How to modify.  How to change and substitute to modify a recipe for ingredients I have rather than the ingredients it calls for.  I’ve also collected a ton of recipes in my head so all I have to do is look in the fridge and I can think back to a recipe I can make with that. (NO! I haven’t memorized them…I just know where to find them! ;))
    Also, one thing I was afraid of when I switched to Paleo was losing the ability to love my food.  I always tell people that I live to eat.  I do not eat to live.  I. simply. love. food.  The creative people hereherehere and many others have allowed me to still live to eat.  I can cook some dang good food as long as I have at least those three weapons in my back pocket. 
What’s your list of five?  Post in the comments and let me know!!
Hey! Please use the sharing buttons below!! Also, click the link to the right under “Social Vibe” and help support Do Something. (its free!)
Thanks for reading!  ~*~JL~*~
8 thoughts on “Friday Series: Making a Better Me

  1. Hooray! I’m so glad you’re doing this. And I’m kinda with you on TV… I’ve cut way back but that’s only increased my enjoyment of the few shows that I watch and love. Have you seen Flashpoint? I’m a big cop show person and Flashpoint is AWESOME.

    Thank you for the sweet shout-outs!

    1. I’m glad, too. I also encouraged my sister to do it as well! Hopefully she will. 🙂 I haven’t seen Flashpoint yet. What station does that come on? I’ll have to check it out. Or see if its on Netflix!

      And you’re welcome! they’re well deserved!

  2. okay…so. I have TiVo and it automatically records things it thinks you’ll be interested in. Turned on my TiVo today…and what’s there? Flashpoint!

Leave a Reply

