What is it about technology?


Are people too dependent on technology? (yes) What is it about technology that we can’t seem to get away from? (clinical addiction?)

These questions posed some others for me..

What would I do without Twitter? i‘d live.

What would I do without Facebook? be disconnected.

What would I do without my iPhone? be miserable.

What would I do without my computer? die.

I’ve been without Facebook for nearly 2 weeks and I honestly have not missed it at all except for the fact I feel a little disconnected from everyone.  Both my mom and my mother-in-law have both made comments that they miss me being on it because they miss seeing what I’m up to or what I’ve been doing.  I was in Austin this past weekend and when I was talking to my mom I just casually mentioned it.  I was shocked that she didn’t know I had been in Austin.  It took me a minute to realize that I wasn’t on Facebook for her to know where I was!  Since when did updating mom become an update on Facebook?  What happened to picking up the phone?  I don’t know…but this two weeks away has made me realize I need to do more of it.   It has also made me realize that I need to do much less Facebook.  I enjoy Twitter about 500 times more and I spend about 1/10th of the time on it.

If I had to say I was addicted to some part of technology, I would say currently that I’m addicted to having a computer and I’m addicted to my iPhone.  I seriously don’t know how I would go from my iPhone back to any other phone.  It’s my lifeline.

I do know that I wouldn’t sell my kids, I wouldn’t game until I died and I hope I never try to put technology before my family and friends.  If there’s one thing I can’t stand its when 4 people go to dinner and you look at the table and every single one of them is on their phone.  Have I been guilty of this?  Sort of.  There have been times that Leighton and I will go to dinner and we’ll both have our noses buried eye-deep into our phones.  We usually catch ourselves, though, and put them down and spend some time with each other without our phones getting in the way.

We won’t get away from technology. In fact, it will only become more and more a part of our lives.  The important thing is, though, that you make sure you strike a balance between real life (IRL!!) and technology.  Are you addicted to technology?  how?  how do you strike the balance?

Hey! Please use the sharing buttons below!! Also, click the link to the right under “Social Vibe” and help support Do Something. (its free!)
Thanks for reading!  ~*~JL~*~
Leave a Reply

