Easy, Breezy, Beautiful…Recipe! (and a ‘no excuses’ note)


Okay…maybe I’ve been watching too much America’s Next Top Model.  So sue me and then enjoy this deliciousness to follow… 🙂

Last night it was 10 p.m. and all I had cooked in my fridge were 2 chicken breasts.  Crap!  I have two people to feed tomorrow for breakfast, lunch and dinner!  So, I take a look at the co-op goods from Saturday and anything else left over in my fridge and my pantry for what I can make on the fly.  Then, I started looking through my “Paleo to Try” recipe list for something quick and easy.  Then this one caught my eye!  Mexican Stew…mmm mm…anything Mexican sounds great to me!

Here’s what I have in my slow cooker right now.  It took me about 5 minutes to throw it in and I’m sure it will be delicious.Mexican Stew

1.5 lbs beef stew meat

1 onion, sliced

Handful of whole garlic cloves

1 carrot diced

5 celery stalks, diced

1/2 head of purple cabbage, chopped

1 280z can El Pato Enchilada Sauce

Dump it all in a slow cooker and cook for 6 -7 hours on low.

Enjoy!!

via It’s Too Hard!!! And a not so hard recipe | Everyday Paleo.

So, here’s what I did.

I took the ingredients above, put a liner (buy these, please.  Life-freaking-saver) in my crock pot and tossed in all the ingredients above plus a little cumin, smoked paprika, chili powder, ground coriander, garlic salt and Emril’s Southwest Essence.  Also, I cut the garlic cloves in half before tossing them in.  I think it gives it so much more of that garlic flavor if you break it open.  Then, I set the crock pot on low and voila!  By 6 a.m. I had lunch ready and the rest put in a container in the fridge for dinner!

Total time spent: 13 minutes.

After throwing this together…plus some others, don’t tell me you don’t have time.  Lame excuse.  If you’re into it, read Sarah’s entire post (click the link below the recipe) about how and why eating healthy (not just Paleo…healthy in general) is not hard.  It’s only hard because you don’t make it a priority. Same as working out, going to school, anything else.

The only reason I can say this is because I have been there.  I’ve been that person making excuses.  I’m too tired (well, its because you’re eating like crap and not getting enough exercise!) I don’t have the money (If you have a Wii, there are plenty of cheap interactive workouts.  If you don’t have a Wii, there are plenty of great DVDs as well.  Oh, and the sidewalk is free. Also, that $40 bar tab every weekend ($160/mo!), that’s more than what my gym membership costs a month!) I don’t have time (but you have time for TV, movies, Facebook, magazines…pick your poison.  You have time.)

I finally woke up one day and decided I had had enough.  I was done gaining weight, buying bigger clothes and being a recluse during the summer.  At first it was about looks.  Now it’s about the way I feel, the way my skin feels, my energy levels.  It’s about making my entire body and my life better.

Leave a Reply

