Workout: The Bear Complex


I’ll just quit apologizing for the lack of posting because I feel like I’m apologizing too much for it.  Sometimes I’m just soooo busy but I DO have so much to say!! 🙂 🙂

So, today I’m compelled to write about yesterday’s workout.  Which was:

Strength

Dips 5×5

Met-con

“The Bear Complex”

5 rounds of:

7 cycle of

1 Power Clean

1 Front Squat

1 Push Press

1 Back Squat

1 Push Press

Rules:

Bar must touch the ground after the completion of each movement but cannot rest on the ground or it terminates the set.

Goal is to increase loads each round to complete “The Bear” with max load.

Rest as needed between sets.

You must power clean the bar to full standing position before squatting the weight.

Cash-out

L-sit 2:00

via CrossFit Denton County.

To see a demo of the workout, click here. Watch long enough to view the captions as this is pretty much how we did ours.

I started with just the bar in the first round (45#).  That round was fairly easy and I figured I should have started at 50#.  Second and third rounds were 50# and 55# respectively.  After round 3, I felt like my ending weight (at this rate was going to be 65#) was not going to be as hard as I wanted it to be by round 5 so for round 4, I decided to up my weight by 10# and go for 65# to end at 70# by the last round.  By cycle 6 on the 4th round, I was starting to regret going up in weight.  The 2nd push press was getting really hard for me to lock out.  Its an awkward movement when you lift from behind your head rather than in the rack position.  I rested about a minute and a half before I started my last set.  By the first front squat in round 5, I wasn’t sure I’d get through it but by cycle 5, I knew I could finish and I pushed through it.  I still barely locked out the 2nd push press of every cycle in the last round.

But.

I did it. And I challenged myself with the heavier weight and I succeeded.  I’ve never done this workout before but it has definitely been my favorite so far.  I can’t wait to try again down the road and see some improvement!!

I worked on dips via several different methods.  Negatives on the dip bar, on the rings with a blue band, using a chair, on the parallettes with my feet on the ground and parallettes with my feet on a parallette.  I am constantly improving on these and I think I will start to work on the negatives more in the future.

I did 1:30 of the L-sits on the dip bar in a sitting position.  I broke it up into 3 sets of ~30 seconds.  I finished the day with 1013 meters of rowing for the rowing competition by Concept2 rowers.  The gym set the goal of 250m per person per day.  I’m challenging myself with 1000m per day.  So far, so good!  1013m yesterday and 1015m today.

Also, I’ve registered for the Texas Chicken Run on April 30th.  I registered for the 10 a.m. wave.  Let me know if you want to go and you can ride with us. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Workout: The Bear Complex

Leave a Reply

