Workout: Filthy Fifty


“Filthy Fifty” or “Dirty Thirty” compare to 7-2-10 , 12-14-09, 7-30-09, 6-16-09 , 4-23-09 , 2-20-09 and 11-21-10

For time:

50 Box jump, 24″ (m)/20″ (w)

50 Jumping pull-ups

50 Kettlebell swings, 36# (m)/26(w)

Walking Lunge, 50 steps

50 Knees to elbows

50 Push press, 45# (m)/35# (w)

50 Back extensions

50 Wall ball shots, 20# (m)/15# (w)

50 Burpees

50 Double-unders

via CrossFit Denton County.

Filthy Fifty…Dirty Thirty…Twiddly Twenty (I made that one up…)

Whatever you choose to call it, it is my favorite benchmark workout.  It’s also probably the most challenging workout that I have ever done in CrossFit.  That’s possibly why I like to use it to measure improvement.

I’ve done this workout 3 times since starting CrossFit in July of last year.  Each time I’ve improved dramatically.   My first workout was on July 2, 2010.  This was the WOD on the board.  Casey had me do 20 of most of the things on the list but I did skip a few but I’m fuzzy right now of which things I skipped (push press & k2e??).  I also don’t remember what weight I did with anything.  Anyway…needless to say, as my first WOD doing 20 reps of most of these things I had a time right at or right under 30 minutes.  Recovery from this workout was dismal at best.  It took me (if I recall correctly) 4 or 5 days to fully recover.  Eesh…

Fast forward 4 months to November.  Filthy Fifty is posted again.  I wasn’t excited to DO the workout but I was excited to see how I faired this time around.  Dirty Thirty is what I chose and I only scaled the box jumps (12″), wall ball weight (to 10#), K2E to knees-to-hips (raising knees to a sitting position) and I subbed 90 singles for the 30 double unders.  My time was 22:49.  Definitely a dramatic improvement from just 4 months ago.  I shaved ~7 minutes from my time and I was incredibly proud of myself.  Recovery time: 1 or 2 days

Fast forward another 3 months to last Thursday.  I did the Dirty Thirty again and again only scaling box jumps (12″), WB (10#) and K2E to knees-to-chest.  My time this time was … drum roll please … 18:41!! I took another 4 minutes off my time.  Yeah!!  This time where I really struggled were the K2E because I couldn’t get my grip, the burpees (duh), and the double unders.  The first 15 or 20 DU I got relatively quickly but the last few took me FOREVER…probably because I was so tired. Recovery time: Less than 12 hours…for real.  And one difference I felt from the others is that just minutes after the workout…I felt fine.  I didn’t feel completely destroyed. SUCCESS!!! (*ahem*  Whole9)

Next time this WOD comes around I will hope to be doing actual K2E and I’ll be doing my WB with the 15# ball.  I hope to have my box jumps higher by then as well.  I’ll start working on those to get up to the medium box now.  I’m ready to see more progress on this WOD!! After I’ve nailed the Dirty Thirty as RX’d, I’ll try my hand at the full blown Filthy Fifty.  Well…here goes!!!

5 thoughts on “Workout: Filthy Fifty

  1. Yes girl! Whole9 makes SOOOO much of a difference! I haven’t been super consistent with my gym attendance since the last DT in November, but I feel like I did pretty dang good on Friday! I took a little over a minute off my time and wasn’t just DEAD when the workout was over! Whole9/Whole30 really works!!! You’ve made some great improvements, and like you, as soon as I can do DT as rx’d, I’ll give FF a shot!

    1. ooohhh….FGB…..Only ever done that one once….I may have to do it again to really judge. It might be a toss up!!!

      Thanks for stopping by!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

