Chicken, Basil, Spinach, oh my!


This week is going to be rough.  It’s starting out incredibly hectic.  I was too wrapped up in hanging out and lovin’ on my husband to worry about dishes, cooking for the week or laundry.  So…that means today, I’m rushing to cook for Leighton leaving for the week and planning for my last minute trip to Austin Tuesday afternoon.  Well, it will all have to wait until Wednesday when I get back.

Well…4:30 comes early so enjoy this recipe while I get my beauty sleep! 🙂

Yesterday I made this absolutely amazing dish from Everyday Paleo.  I didn’t change the recipe…AT ALL!! Go me! 🙂

Basil Bacon Wrapped Chicken

1 1/2 lbs chicken breast tenders or chicken breasts cut into 1″ wide slices

1 – 8.5 oz jar of julienne cut sun dried tomatoes

8-12 fresh basil leaves

8-12 bacon strips

Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 400.  Grease a baking sheet with either grass fed organic butter or coconut oil.  Take a chicken piece, top with a large scoop on sun dried tomatoes, top that with a basil leaf, and wrap the whole thing tightly with a piece of bacon.  Place all the wrapped chicken pieces on the greased baking sheet, sprinkle them all with pepper, and bake for 15 minutes.  Finish under the broiler for 3-4 minutes to crisp the bacon.  I served the chicken with kale steamed in chicken stock and carrots cooked in the pressure cooker.

via What are YOU chasing – and of course a recipe… | Everyday Paleo.

It turned out wonderful.  Leighton wanted more!!

Tips

  • Make sure you use nitrate free bacon (Market Street has some and probably Whole Foods and Sprouts).
  • I put toothpicks in to hold the bacon around the chicken.
  • Use an actual baking sheet.  I used my Pampered Chef stone and all the juices drained right off the pan and onto the bottom of my oven for me to clean up later.
  • Be prepared for mucho smoke coming out of the oven (because of the bacon).  Watch out and don’t hold your head directly over the door while opening it.
  • I used coconut oil since I do not have any clarified butter on hand.

Next time I’ll…

  • Try it with turkey bacon.
  • Add more tomatoes and maybe more basil!! It was sooo good.

While the chicken was cooking, I whipped up this little number from Melissa Joulwan from The Clothes Make the Girl.  Here’s the excerpt with the recipe that I used but I highly suggest you click and read the entire post.  Its a great post about spinach!

#2. Mediterranean Spinach

Also ridiculously easy. Steam or sautée fresh or frozen (defrosted) spinach. Toss with a clove of pressed garlic, a spritz of lemon juice, and a sprinkle of crushed oregano. Add healthy oils with a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil 1 tsp=1 block), some sliced black olives (5=1 block), or pine nuts (1.5 tsp=1 block).

via The Clothes Make The Girl: Eat Your Vegetables: Spinach.

All I have to say about this spinach recipe is … Heck Yeah!!

Tips…

  • Remember that when cooking with spinach, it wilts tremendously so make sure you get plenty at the store. I used one bunch of fresh spinach and that was just enough for Leighton and myself so if you’re feeding more than two people, make sure you get several bunches.
  • Also, remember to wash thoroughly. Fresh spinach sometimes still has dirt or sand mixed in it.
  • I added black olives to mine and stuck them into the mixture after I turned off the heat and then I sauteed a little more.
  • I used coconut oil.  Yum-my!
  • Don’t forget the lemon juice!! I made this again tonight and forgot the lemon juice 😦 😦  Was still good but not as awesome as last night

Next time I’ll…

  • I used the lemon juice from the bottle but next time I’ll make sure I have a fresh lemon on hand.  I don’t think it made the spinach bad, I just think fresh squeezed would have made it even better!

Spinach is on sale at Sprouts this week.  I think I’ll head over and get a few more bunches and make this again for dinner this week.  MM mm good!

That’s all for now!  Happy eating!

~~JL~~

One thought on “Chicken, Basil, Spinach, oh my!

Leave a Reply

