Yummy Cold Weather Stew


Tonight I tried a recipe on my “Try These” list.  This is a recipe by Sarah Fragoso of www.everydaypaleo.com.

Here’s the recipe as it is written on her site.  I made a few changes below.

Cover the bottom of a big pot with olive oil and add 1 diced red onion.  When onions start to become transparent add 1 lb of grass fed beef and 1 lb of ground pork sausage.  Brown meat and season with a little sea salt, and a generous amount of garlic powder, dried basil, dried oregano, and three dashes of cayenne pepper.  Throw in 4 sliced carrots, 8 sliced stalks of celery, two big handfuls of green beans, 4 cups of organic free range chicken broth, and 1 can of organic diced tomatoes.  Let the soup simmer for about 45 minutes or until veggies are tender.

via Warm up with some soup! | Everyday Paleo

I used this recipe and I tried it tonight.  I love it!  Here are my adjustments

  • 8 stalks of celery was just.too.much.  Seven would have been fine or even six.  I think it would have completely taken over the stew had I put all of it in.
  • I added in 1 bunch of green onions with all the veggies
  • I added pepper

This recipe turned out great.  I wish I had tried it before.  It was super easy, super fast and made tons of food.  It will definitely be enough for a few days of leftovers for us.

Next time I make this recipe, I will..

  • Add 2 more cups of broth.  I couldn’t this time because I had only bought one container.  Just enough for the recipe.  I think with more broth, it will be a little more soupy than mine was.
  • Add fresh garlic
  • Add Emril’s Southwest Essence instead of the spices
  • Use Mexican stewed tomatoes…diced. 🙂

We’ll see how that one turns out!  I don’t have a picture of the finished product but Sarah has a good one.  I may have one to post later.  I’m having it for breakfast.  Look for it in my “Food. It’s what I eat” album on facebook.

until next time…

~~JL~~

2 thoughts on “Yummy Cold Weather Stew

    1. Cari – Honestly, I would add some raw veggies as a side. Either a salad or 1/2 of a red pepper. You would also need to add a fat. I only used about 1 or 2 tbsp of olive oil for the entire recipe which would equal out to not near the amount of fat you would need for one meal.

      For instance, if I were having this for lunch I would have about 1 1/2 or 2 cups of the soup and then 1/2 of a red pepper and some nuts. You could also dice up some avacado and add it to your soup. That would probably taste good too. In fact…I might just try that! 🙂

      But what you add depends on your hunger level but make sure you get in those veggies. They are your energy!!

      Let me know if you have any other questions!

Leave a Reply

