Whole30 Day 2


Wrote this Thursday but didn’t have time to post…here ya go!

Day 2

Today has been tough, to say the least. I really, really didn’t want to get up this morning and since then I’ve been exhausted. The workout this morning (800m run, rest 5 min, 400m run, rest 2.5 min, run 800m) killed me. I mean, halfway through the first run I really didn’t think I’d finish it. I was in pain. From my head, to my fingers, arms legs…everything. In fact, I think the only reason I finished the first run was fear…of the neighborhood I was running through! LOL It was even hard to drive home because I was so tired after that workout. Maybe this is why I hate running so much. It takes every ounce of energy and strength I have to even finish running a short distance. Either way, here it is nearly noon and I still don’t feel recovered. *sigh* I feel a January challenge coming on… (my CrossFit alter ego is snickering at the thought of a running challenge right now…)

I’d love to be quick and blame this on Whole30, but I know that isn’t it. Especially since I’ve been eating Paleo for a couple months now. I know it is common for people to feel a lack of energy during the first part of the Whole30 but I just don’t think that’s the case with me. I think most people feel that lack of energy because they’re cutting out grains and dairy and not replacing it with enough good veggie carbs. Well, I eat PLENTY of good veggie carbs. I blame it on the fact that I ‘let go’ for 4 days for Thanksgiving. I feel just like I did before I started eating better. Tired all the time, workouts take every last ounce of energy and I just don’t feel like doing anything!

It has really amazed me (since attending the Whole9 workshop) how food has such a profound affect on your mood, feelings and energy level. I used to think any food was energy. So the fact that I didn’t have any energy…well…I didn’t blame it on the food! I sure did eat enough food! 🙂 Now I know better. I went to the doctor to try to figure out what it was and all I got were solutions that involved medication. That is one thing that just ticks me off about the medical community. There’s a pill for everything. Diabetes? Pill. Overweight? Pill. Depressed? Pill. What about good old fashioned eating right and getting exercise?? Not ONCE did ANY doctor of mine (except my ‘girl’ doctor) recommend a better diet and more exercise to ‘cure’ my health and energy issues. I’ve had lots of energy the past couple of months and I attribute that to my more active lifestyle and better food choices. My workouts have been good for the most part and I’ve been losing weight. I’m also amazed at how quickly bad food goes back to negatively affecting you. I could not get enough sleep over Thanksgiving ‘break.’ I think I went to bed at 8:30 three times! And now I am regretting my 4 day binge more and more. And it won’t happen again… I don’t want to go through this again. Now, I’m not saying I won’t eat bad for a meal here and there…but I certainly won’t go that long!

Hopefully by the end of this week I’ll be feeling back to my old self again…especially since I’m eating Whole30-clean.

Leave a Reply

