Whole30 Challenge #1


This month I have one challenge.  Complete my first Whole30 challenge…during Christmas!!  I’m crazy, right?? 🙂  Well, I can do this…even through a holiday.  It will be difficult and Leighton and I MAY need to bring our own food to Christmas dinner, but we’re going to do it.  Our bodies and our health are more important than one meal.

I’ll steal some stuff from Melissa & Dallas at Whole9

I can do this.  It is NOT hard…and to quote the Whole9 blog: “It is not hard. Don’t you dare tell us this is hard. Giving up heroin is hard. Beating cancer is hard. Drinking your coffee black. Is. Not. Hard. You won’t get any coddling, and you won’t get any sympathy for your “struggles”. YOU HAVE NO EXCUSE not to complete the program as written. It’s only thirty days, and it’s for the most important cause on earth – the only physical body you will ever have in this lifetime.

And…No excuses…”Don’t even consider the possibility of a “slip”. Unless you physically tripped and your face landed in a box of donuts, there is no “slip”. You make a choice to eat something of poor quality. It is always a choice, so do not phrase it as if you had an accident. Commit to the program, 100%, for the full 30 days, and don’t give yourself an excuse to fail before you’ve even started. No exceptions…no excuses.

And the hardest part that I (and my mood…) will have to learn and learn to deal with is…”You never, ever, ever HAVE to eat anything you don’t want to eat. You’re all big boys and girls. Toughen up. Learn to say no (or make your Mom proud and say, “No, thank you”). Learn to stick up for yourself. Just because it’s your sister’s birthday, or your best friend’s wedding, or your company picnic does not mean you have to eat anything. It’s always a choice, and we would hope that you stopped succumbing to peer pressure in 7th grade.

So, in my own words…Leighton and I CAN do this and we WILL do this.  We were going to put it off until January but our gym owner, Dave, put us up to the challenge for December.  So…here we are.

We’ve prepared.  We have no more processed foods in our house (not that we had many to begin with) and I’ve cleaned out some room in the fridge for our month-long adventure.

I will be keeping a separate photo diary (aside from my usual “What I Eat” album) specifically for my Whole30 food.  Keep me accountable people.  You don’t see 3 meals a day…you call me out! 🙂

Now, if anyone would like to get me some Rosa’s or homemade tamales and make me trip and fall into them…DON’T DO IT!

(please do it!)

Anyway…I would appreciate any support you could give me…and us.  Thank you!!

 

JL

One thought on “Whole30 Challenge #1

Leave a Reply

