It’s October Already???


Wow…I’ve been busy. I mean B U S Y. I can’t wait for this month to be over!!

Lots of exciting things coming up.

• Melissa & Tim’s wedding in Las Vegas 10-10-10
• A six day vacation in Vegas visiting friends Jozef and Heather
• Whole9 workshop October 16
• Kea Luau
• Callie’s Homecoming on the 22nd
• Melissa’s Post-Wedding party on the 23rd at The Joint (let me know if you want to come!)
• My Birthday (26th!! Buy me an iPad!)
• ALS Walk on the 30th
• Turkey Burpee on Thanksgiving Day

And then I’ll finally have a break. Sheesh…exhausting just looking at it!!

Okay…and for the details (for the ones that need it)! I know its long, but just read it…CrossFit and Nutrition updates at the end!! 🙂

THE WEDDING EVENT – And man, has it been a long time coming or WHAT?? I’m so happy for this girl. Melissa is such a strong, beautiful, loving, caring, selfless person. I could go on and on. She and Tim are finally tying the knot on 10.10.10. I’m totally stoked!! It will be so much fun and I’ll be sure to post lots of pictures! I’m in charge of the dress on the flight there so wish me luck!

Vacay! – In conjunction with The Wedding Event, Leighton and I will stay 3 days longer to spend some time with Joz and Heather in Vegas (they live there…Lucky!) and hang out and relax. Hopefully it will be relatively warm so that when I fly in on Friday, I can get some good pool time in! I’m ready for all the eats and treats that Las Vegas has to offer! (Sorry, I’m not much of a gambler! I’d rather eat good food & see some spectacular shows.)

Whole9 Workshop – Please let me know if you want to come Saturday, October 16! This workshop will provide a practical, straightforward, interactive discussion on the important role nutrition plays in your overall health and fitness. For info and to register visit their website. It’ll be the best $100 you spend for a while. Trust me on this one! More details:

In our new Foundations of Nutrition Workshop, you’ll learn:

  • The good, bad and ugly side of how your food choices affect your metabolism, health and longevity
  • How certain food groups are negatively impacting how you look, feel and perform, even if you don’t immediately notice their effects
  • What you should be eating to look, feel and perform your best – and why you don’t really need to weigh and measure all your food to achieve excellent results
  • A fool-proof meal planning template to help you manage meals, snacks and pre- and post-workout nutrition (including recommendations, examples and recipes)
  • Discussion of common errors – ways to get it wrong when you’re doing everything right
  • The best way to incorporate “cheats” into your diet, enjoying the foods you really want without compromising your overall health and fitness goals
  • And most importantly… how to break unhealthy patterns, habits and cravings related to food, and change the way you eat for the rest of your life in a healthy, balanced, satisfying and sustainable manner

Kea Luau – This will be the first year that I am attending/helping with the Kea Luau. It is a Luau that our friends put on every year. I’ve never been but from what I hear from Celia & Edwin, I know it is a night of exciting food, fun, dancing and performing!! I cannot WAIT!! Let me know if you want to come to this as well. Its $35 and let me know if you need any other details! (Hey…its as close to Hawaii you’re gonna get for a while!)

My birthday! 10/26/10! – I need an iPad. That is all. For purchase please click here.

ALS Walk October 30th – Let me know if you want to come with me! It’s FREE and I really don’t want to go alone. Register at http://www.alsa.org or if you already have a team, please let me know so I can join! I haven’t registered yet in case I find someone already on a team.

Turkey Burpee – This is something I’ve heard about since joining CrossFit in July. I thought it was going to be a burpee competition so, obviously, I was out (burpee’s and I currently have a hate/hate relationship. We’re on the outs…). Well, I was wrong! It is actually a 5k run/walk and a WOD (workout of the day) Thanksgiving morning. How fun! Don’t let the workout scare you. There will be a scaled down version for you non-CrossFitters out there! And for that matter, me as well. I’m not quite up to 100% of all the workouts. Please register here.  It’s only $20 and goes to a great cause! I’m getting there! More on that below…

Updates

I’ve missed a few CrossFit days since my weeks have been filling up so I’m kind of irritated at that. I wish things would slow back down but that most definitely won’t happen this month (see above!) so I’ll have to continue to work around it. While in Vegas I hope to get in at least 2 or 3 CF workouts. I’m definitely beginning to see progress, though, which I’m totally excited about. I’m actually not really losing weight (more on that later) but I am gaining endurance, strength, flexibility and heart! I’m comparing times/weights/heights/lengths that I’m doing now to what I was doing one or two months ago and can definitely see the progress! What a motivator! I’m getting to know my fellow CrossFitters a little better and every time I go to CF, I’m reminded of why I love it so much. Everyone there pushes you to do your best and to push through the pain (so to speak) to get to the goal you’ve been aiming for. The one day I was able to go this week I had several PR’s (personal records) and I could not be happier. And I could not have done it without the help of everyone there. Especially Kelly & Becca.

I did get my first official CrossFit injury that day! My knee is still swollen and bruised from it but it was worth it. I was working on getting my max height box jump and I landed (somehow?) the 27″ jump. Then I attempted ~29″ and crashed & burned. I actually thought I MIGHT have been able to make it with a second try but by that time I had psyched myself out and couldn’t get up the courage to jump again.

Here’s a pic sort of.  This is while it was still pretty swollen…

My diet has been good and bad. I’m splurging a little more often than I was in the beginning, but I’m still pretty much on track. I always have a great breakfast and usually a great lunch. Dinner is my struggle but mostly I’m eating right.

Which brings me to losing weight. I’m pretty much at a stand still. I bounce between having lost 5-8 lbs. and I’ve been doing CrossFit for 3 months and the diet for 2 months. My doctor (and I for that matter!) really wanted me down 20 lbs by now and I’m not even close. They tested my thyroid this week and the tests came back normal. Now she is looking at altering my medications to see if they are the cause. We’ll see! I’ll keep you updated. Until then (but after this trip) I’m back to my strict diet.

Well, that’s all for now! I meant to post this blog Wednesday but never had a chance to finish it. Thanks to a 3 hour flight and the WordPress app on my phone, I was able to finish it! Look for one posted later about my travel adventures while I’m chillin’ poolside!

Love you all!

JL

One thought on “It’s October Already???

  1. Dude–that nutrition workshop sounds awesome. Bring your notes to Vegas!! I’m especially interested in the common mistakes section (as if I didn’t know: dark chocolate covered pomegranate seeds are NOT helpful for weight loss, despite all the antioxidants.)

    PS–Jozef & I will be land-sailing while you’re at the workshop! Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

