Off the Bandwagon…


I’ve fallen off the bandwagon.

The eating healthy bandwagon.  The CrossFit bandwagon.  The losing weight bandwagon.  The FlyLady bandwagon.  The coupon bandwagon.

Well, tomorrow is a new day and a new week and I’m back on the bandwagon.  All of them, hopefully.

Eating Healthy:  Lets start with this one.  I have eaten Rosa’s, Taco Bell, Whatburger, fried home cookin’ at a buffet and hibachi all since Thursday.  *GROSS*  Went shopping at the Farmer’s Market Saturday and picked up some goodies.  I cooked a good meal this evening and hopefully tomorrow will be a better day!

CrossFit:  I missed CrossFit Wednesday because I had to take a couple of friends home after work and could not make it in on time.  No big deal, right? Normally, right.  This week…BIG DEAL.  I missed Thursday because I wanted to spend some more time with Leighton before he went off for the weekend…swearing to myself I was going to make it up by going Friday and Saturday.  Well, Friday got away with me with Maggie being sick and Casey Donahew Band playing Billy Bobs and I didn’t make it to CrossFit.  Ok, ok, ok.  I’ll go Saturday and make it up.  WRONG.  Slept right through that class!!  So…all weekend I’ve felt like poo because I missed nearly every CrossFit session this week.  Go me. But, tomorrow is a new day.  CrossFit, here I come ready as ever!

Losing Weight: I’ve gained back 2# of the original 5# that I’ve lost since beginning CrossFit and my eating regimen.  Makes me so dang mad.  This week I hope to shed these 2# I gained in the last few days quickly so I can get back on track and get back to losing weight.  Side note–Leighton has done SO well! I think he’s lost 10# now.  My grandma even noticed today when we saw her.  She doesn’t even know he’s been trying to lose weight.  I’m so proud of him!

FlyLady:  My sink is never shiny, my floors are always messy, there’s hot spots all over my house and I’ve abandoned all FlyLady cleaning routines.  So, needless to say, my house has been thrown into utter disarray.  Not that it was ever spotless in the first place, but was sure as heck better than it looks now!  Tonight I shined all three of my sinks and gave the guest bathroom a good wipe down.  Not a full on clean, but at least a wipe down.  Did the dishes before I got to bed so I could wake up to a shiny, happy sink to greet me as I walk out the door for work.  Same goes for my bathroom sink.  Honestly, there is no better feeling than walking out the door knowing that at least your sinks are empty and clean.  Tomorrow I’ll re-start my zone cleaning and my monthly habit and start reading my FlyLady e-mails again.  Here we go!!

Coupon: Last, but certainly not least, I’ve stopped couponing.  Well, sort of.  Really, I’m so stocked up on most things, I haven’t needed to go couponing.  However, as far as the food goes, I’ve not been using my coupons and certainly not getting the best deal that I can on my food.  This week I start again.  Stop beating up my bank account and getting full use out of my coupons!

Wow…what a crazy past few days.  It’s been crazy, fun and I’ve learned my lesson.  All of these things are here to help me.  Even though they take time, energy and effort, in the end I’m left feeling satisfied and accomplished.  This weekend I feel neither.  I feel fat, useless and like a failure.

Here’s some things I’ve cooked lately.  I’ve gotten many requests from people asking about my recipes so I’m really, really going to try to start posting them.  Try these recipes out!  You’ll be glad you did!

Chicken Tacos — Tips:  Use whatever veggies you have!! I substituted 1/2 red onion and 1/2 white onion, 1 green bell pepper and 1 red bell pepper instead of the veggies they suggested.  I still added the jalapeno and lime juice. You could also use EVOO if you don’t want to buy canola oil.  Instead of salt & pepper on my chicken, I used Mrs. Dash’s southwest chipotle seasoning.  I served with brussels sprouts using the same recipe I’ve mentioned in a past blog.  The recipe is located here (except I sauté instead of roast).  Here’s another great brussels sprouts recipe that offers a different option for cooking.

I bought some pattypan squash at the farmer’s market this weekend so I may try this recipe for Summer Squash Soup with Basil or Stuffed Squash (I would substitute EVOO for the butter in this recipe).  We’ll see how it works out! I’ll let you know!

I hope everyone has a great week and I hope I have a more upbeat post later in the week! 🙂

Here’s a pic of my brussels almost done cooking.  I wait until they are a little more blackened.


Leave a Reply

