of Celebration and Mourning


What a weekend it has been so far.  My emotions have been on an incredible roller coaster…

Friday evening I found out that my friend and coworker, Charlie, passed away from an unfortunate car accident.  I hate that death of young people around me seems to come in regular intervals.  Every time this happens, I struggle with a lot of things emotionally and spiritually.  I don’t really cry any more, but I still hurt. And I’m still tremendously sad and upset.  I struggle with running to God and completely turning my back.  I never do either, really.  I just stay in the middle in the end.  I never really seem to go either way…

There are two things that get me through the untimely deaths of my friends and family members.  My mother and Isaiah 57:1-2

The righteous pass away; the godly often die before their time. And no one seems to care or wonder why. No one seems to understand that God is protecting them from the evil to come. For the godly who die will rest in peace.  –Isaiah 57:1-2

Without my mom, I would not have made it through the past several years.  In my time of need and pain, she always has the right words to say.  I’m sure it is God speaking through her.  Absolutely sure.  I couldn’t do it without her.

Friday was really hard for me with Charlie’s death, of course.  There were phone calls, consoling, and many, many tears.  I hate making that phone call.  Mostly because I have no idea what to tell the person on the other end of the line.  Men are the easiest.  They just say, “Okay.” and I can see them dropping their head and shaking it in sadness and frustration.  I don’t deal with tears very well…so the women are harder to break news to.  I did it, though, but I was sorry to have to break the news.  Dee did send me one small text that did make my weekend better and I thank her for that.

I wanted to conclude my blog post on a positive note.

Aside from Friday’s tragedy, this weekend was one of celebration and happiness.  Friday I had my friends Marla and Bo from Conway, AR come down to Texas for a visit.  Marla, Bo, Brittany and I all went to the Mesquite Rodeo to see Casey Donahew Band perform and film the second part of their first music video.  We had  great time and I’m so glad Marla and Bo were able to come and I always LOVE any chance I get to hang out with my Brit.

Saturday was a busy but fun day.  We first went to Robbie and Sheila’s wedding in Fort Worth at the Crossroads Tabernacle.  Their wedding was beautiful and I wish them all the best in their marriage and journey together!

After the wedding, Leighton and I came back home for a quick nap and then got up and got ready for Jordan and Kristen’s engagement party in Westlake.  On the way to the party, we stopped at Target for their engagement gift as well as baby gifts for my coworkers, Amanda and Melissa who are due any day now!!  We got to see and talk to lots of people at the engagement party that we haven’t seen in ages. It was so good getting to know some other people I’ve met in the past but hadn’t had a chance to get to know.  I also got to meet some great people I’ve heard a lot about and have never met.  A truly enjoyable experience!  Congratulations Jordan & Kristen!

Much mourning and lots of celebration this weekend.  I am sad, but I’m also overjoyed at the loving people that surround me.  That I have so many gracious, loving, caring friends that surround me.  I would not be the person I am today without each and every one of you.

2 thoughts on “of Celebration and Mourning

  1. I love hanging out with my Jenni too! I’m sorry you had to deal with all the sadness 😦 If you need me tomorrow, just call! I will be around 🙂

  2. Oh, sweetie…I just don’t know what to say. You have lost so many people that you are close to. I am so sorry for this tragic loss. I will be praying for his loved ones. I know they must be so hurt and shocked.

    Unfortunately, we live in a fallen world, and there is going to be pain, suffering and loss. When I start to question it, I just think of the alternative…not having God by my side. Then what? Then you are just left with the pain…and no hope. If all was well in the world, we wouldn’t need Him.

    “Therefore we do not lose heart. Though outwardly we are wasting away, yet inwardly we are being renewed day by day. For our light and momentary troubles are achieving for us an eternal glory that far outweighs them all. So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.”
    –2 Corinthians 4:16-18

    If I can do anything, let me know. You are precious and I love you so so so much!

Leave a Reply

